Clifton Chenier
Frenchin' the Boogie

Recording Date: 1976


1.  Caldonia (2:48)
2.  Laissez Les Bons Temps Rouler (3:52)
3.  Tu Peux Cogner (mais tu peux pas rentrer) (2:36)
4.  Le Blues De La Vache A Lait (3:32)
5.  Mo J'ai Une P'tite Femme (2:22)
6.  Tous Les Jours Mon Coeur Est Blue (4:05)
7.  J'veux Faire L'amour A Toi (2:58)
8.  Choo Choo Ch' Boogie (2:49)
9.  La Valse De Paris (3:02)
10.  Shake, Rattle And Roll (2:09)
11.  Going Down Slow (in Paris) (3:44)
12.  Aye, Aye Mama (2:15)
13.  Don't You Lie To Me (2:15)
14.  I Want To Be Your Driver (bonus) (3:05)
The undisputed King Of Zydeco! Nice reissue of one of his best albums, originally released in 1976.

Clifton Chenier, the king of zydeco, is heard in prime form on this reissue from 1976. Since Chenier's first language was French and some of his top fans were from France, many of the selections on this set have his French lyrics to familiar songs. It is quite interesting hearing such numbers as "Let the Good Times Roll," "I've Got a Woman," and "Everyday I Have the Blues" sung in French. Chenier's band, which used a few substitutes for this studio set, is top-notch with the pianist-organist being Stanley Durell, Jr., the future "Buckwheat Zydeco." The music has plenty of blues, rock & roll feeling, and the passion of R&B, all mixed together to form zydeco. While many of the selections are fairly brief, each number features a solid groove and plenty of spirit. Recommended. [The 2007 edition featured one bonus track.] ~ Scott Yanow
Clifton Chenier (June 25, 1925 - December 12, 1987), a Creole French-speaking native of Opelousas, Louisiana, was an eminent performer and recording artist of Zydeco, which arose from Cajun and Louisiana Creole music, with R&B, jazz, and blues influences. He played the accordion and won a Grammy Award in 1983. He also was recognized with a National Heritage Fellowship, and in 1989 was inducted posthumously into the Blues Hall of Fame.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...