El Son...

El Son es lo mas sublime

01. Compay Segundo - Chanchan
02. Septeto Nacional - Suavecito
03. Conjunto Típico Cubano - Nieves
04. Trio Matamoros y Maria Teresa Vera - Lágrimas negras
05. Grupo Changüi de Guantanamo - Arsenio nino y Pachín
06. Septeto Nacional - Échale salsita
07. Compay Segundo - El cuarto de tula
08. Septeto Típico Habanero - Cómo está Miguel
09. Grupo Changüi de Guantanamo - En el barrio hay una mora
10. El Guayabero - Como baila Marieta
11. Conjunto Típico Cubano - Dulce Habanera
12. Septeto Típico Habanero - La loma de Belén
13. Conjunto de Sones Orientales - La mora
14. Miguel Matamoros y su Cuarteto Maisi - Veneración
15. Conjunto de Sones Orientales - Madrina mi pollo
16. Miguel Matamoros y su Cuarteto Maisi - Canto a la sombra
The great legacy of Cuban music is in wonderful songs, fine lyrics, exquisite harmonies, superb arrangements -- whether for two guitars and bongo, or a sextet adding double bass and guiro, or a septet with a trumpeter and clavé. As this style evolved at a leisurely pace over the course of the twentieth century, many groups such as Trio Matamoros and Septeto Nacional came to it and added to the style we know as Son. While son is one of the most influential musical forms to come from Cuba, it is not as familiar as the rumba, mambo, or cha cha, which evolved from it. It starts from simple guitar riffs backed by percussion, but most of the melodic weight is carried by raspy vocals, which add charm to the music; occasionally a trumpet adds to the mix of ragged voices. All of these discrete components blend to create one of the most memorable, intoxicating sounds on the planet. The Swiss label ASPIC licensed a compilation of the best and most characteristic Son tunes (with two of its offshoots, bolero and montuno) from Egrem to give you an introduction to the groups and sounds of the genre. By now you probably know "Chan Chan," "Suavecito," and "Lagrimas Negras." Here they are in the original (beautifully remastered) recordings laid down on 78 rpm shellac discs by the great exponents of the genre: Francisco Repilado, Ignacio Piñeiro and Miguel Matamoros, and their respective groups. The best part is the music sounds like it was recorded yesterday.

We hear each member of the small groups, right down to the percussionists who are soloing brilliantly through the whole number, creating a complex layering of sound that remains astoundingly clear and concise. Trumpet, upright bass, bongos, guitars and vocals dance through these selections with a sweetness and melancholy that has never been recaptured in the fifty years since these recordings were waxed. Indeed, as Ignacio Piñeiro avers in "Suavecito," "there is nothing more sublime than son."



Anonymous said...

Dear Miguel,

The Royal Opera House is currently preparing to stage Voices Across The World, this year’s annual summer celebration of traditional and contemporary music from a variety of global cultures that will take place on 31st of July.

Twelve singers will perform unplugged, either a cappella or with minimal accompaniment in the Paul Hamlyn Hall between 2pm and 6.30 pm followed by a thrilling improvised session with electronic artist Andrew McDonnell in Linbury Studio at 7 pm.

We are very interested in attracting both old and new audiences, and particularly interesting is the focus on different singing traditions and the uniqueness of the human voice, which we would love audiences to experience.

We think this could be of an interest to your readers. You can find more information about the production on our website: http://www.roh.org.uk/whatson/production.aspx?pid=15109

Would it be possible for us to leave a comment on your website inviting audiences to this show, or will you be covering the upcoming production yourself?

Kind regards,


Telephone: +44 (0) 20 7010 8561
Email: anastasia.medvedeva@roh.org.uk
Website: www.roh.org.uk

øשlqæda said...